NHS inducts 95 new members

Nora Ait-Boucherbil, News Editor

The new generation of National Honors Society leaders recently took the stage for their inauguration. They were accompanied by the graduating class of NHS officers who literally “passed the torch” down to the new members via candlelight.

The graduating seniors left a big footprint for the juniors to fill along with plenty of advice. Ihssan Ait-Boucherbil, district outreach officer, departed with this advice: “Make sure you always check your email and stay on top of current events; you never know when someone might ask for help last minute.”

“Take advantage of the hours early in the year,” Tiffany Lenza said. Clayton Ledbetter agrees saying that “summer is the best time to get hours.”

There were plenty of great things that the graduating members will miss.

“I will miss seeing the differences my class has made,” Alana Harmon, senior, said.

Lenza’s favorite part was the different volunteer opportunities. The group volunteered to make breakfast at the Daybreak homeless shelter, assisted with the annual food drive, and organized the puppy drive to help a local animal shelter, among others.

The new inductees are excited to fill in the place of the older generation and share some of the same experiences.

“I am really excited about the involvement we will have in our community,” junior Lily Calderon, an NHS inductee said.

NHS is a nationwide organization which consists of over 1 million qualified members. Each member had to “keep a cumulative G.P.A. over 4. and acquire 2 letters of recommendation,” explained junior Luis Gonzalez.

Their pledge also suggests that they had to have displayed and maintained the necessary traits of character, scholarship, leadership, and service.

The following is a list of all the 2015-2016 NHS inductees: Allison Abellera, Jaycie Ackerman, Connor Allen, Riley Anderson, Josee Angelastro, Kathleen Antos, Amanda Arnold, Chad Badertscher, Alexandra Barillas, Olivia Barrientos, Pamela Binda, Jessica Birchall, Brianna Blaskey, Lily Calderon, Erick Calma, Alondra Calzada, Dakota Carl, Sarah Clowers, Gabriela Corona, Taylor Covert, Samantha Craven, Henry Cunningham, Xante Cutroni, Brianna Degen, Erin Eulitz, Megan Fenili, Kara Fisher, Emma Fleck, Michael Frieh, Megan Fugett, Dakota Fuss, Alex Geib, Spencer Givan, Vanessa Godina, Luis Gonzalez, Edwin Guardado, Serena Guzman, Emily Haarman, Joshua Hauert, Jenna Henderson, John Henneberry, Claire Hotchkin, Jacob Johnson, Onreanna Jonas, Tyler Kauffman, Brittany Keneth, Bridget Ketter, Kirsten Kissel, Noah Kraulidis, Kyle Krawiec, Abby Kudia, Pafel Lara Galla, Jakob Leiva, Jesrael Leiva, Viona Lugo, Logan Lundemo, Alec Machacek, Nicholas Margarella, Anthony Marino Jr., Kaitlin May, Bailee McDaniel, Karissa Medina, Emili Mikolajczyk, Abigail Mikrut, Karan Nair, Liam Nassib, Thomas Olson, Devon Palmer, Rebecca Parmenter, Robert Pavlik, Jarod Petrovic, Amanda Pfoser, Jonelle Pratl, Nicholas Pratt, Camilla Provencher, Bailey Rambo, Vincent Russ, Zachary Ryan, Samantha Sabor, Shawnece Sanders, Madeline Shay, Tia Slove, Eric Smith, Grace Smith, Tia Smith, Phoebe Snydersmith, Delaney Starkman, Kathryn Stewart, Mark Syrek, Brittany Tamayo, Jason Taylor, Lauren Tobolic, Sophia Tuliglowski, Tyler Vogen, Bryn Waligorski, Nicholas Wilson, Emily Worland, and Ian Wright.