Teachers honored with CAPE awards


Allie Wright, Editor in Chief

District 202’s CAPE parent group recognized several staff members at the 39th annual CAPE awards ceremony on March 4. Lisa Klaas, Division Chair for Physical Education, received the 2015 CAPE award; Barb Courtier, vocational coordinator, and Dennis Lepacek, head night custodian, received the Steven Hunt Award, and JoAnn Edenburn received the PTSO Volunteer Award.
CAPE (Coordination of Administration and Parent groups for Educational efficiency) chooses winners from nominations of co-workers or community members.
“I was nominated by six of the staff members to receive the award,” said Klaas, who also mentioned that she feels very honored to have received the award. Klaas was nominated by Julie Bortolli, counselor, Audrey Stein, bookkeeper, Pauline Herbst, administrative assistant, Bridget Taylor, dance teacher, Gregory Bayer, PE teacher, and Judy Link, math teacher.
“I feel very honored and very blessed. I have had an awesome career at this school,” said Klaas.
Klaas said that she feels as if the award was earned as a team and she could not have received it without the help of everyone else in the department.
“I feel like I should share my award,” said Klaas. Klaas earned the award as an individual though, as the staff nominated her, recognizing the love she has for kids and her job.
“Lisa has always displayed a ‘whatever is best for the students’ attitude, even if that mindset makes her job more challenging. She has meant so much to so many students and staff members in her 30-plus years here in District 202,” said one of her coworkers in a recent press release.
Courter was also nominated by Stein and Herbst for the Teach award for her outstanding work and caring personality.
“Barb was nominated for her commitment to the students. She is very caring and helpful to all,” Stein said.
“I would like to thank Pauline Herbst and Audrey Stein for nominating me for this award,” Courter said. “I am very grateful and honored to be receiving this award.”
Edenburn and Lepacek also felt very honored that they received an award, but were not available for comment.